15.1. Re-running a Course

Another way to create a course in Studio is to re-run an existing course. When you re-run a course, most, but not all, of the original course content is duplicated to the new course. The original course is not changed in any way.

15.1.1. Data Duplicated When You Re-Run a Course

Type of Content Duplicated to New Course?
Course start date No. Set to midnight on January 1, 2030 (UTC).
All other course dates Yes. You must update all release dates and due dates.
Course structure (sections, subsections, units) and state (published, hidden) Yes.
Individual problems and other components Yes.
Files uploaded to the course, including videos and textbooks Yes.
Pages added to the course Yes, including all page content and the defined page order.
Course Updates Yes.
Advanced Settings Yes.
Grading policy Yes.
Student enrollment data No.
Course team privileges, including admins, discussion moderators, beta testers No. Only the user who created the new course has access to it.
Manually created cohorts No.
Student answers, progress, and grading data No.
Certificates Yes.
Discussion posts, responses, comments, and other data No.
Wiki contributions No.

After you re-run a course, modifications to the original course and the re-run course are independent. Changes to either course are not propagated to the other course. Therefore, you should ensure that the original course content is as complete as possible before you re-run the course.

For more information, see Using Re-Run to Create a Course and Update the New Course.

15.1.2. Using Re-Run to Create a Course

Only global or system administrators have the permissions needed to re-run a course. To re-run a course, contact your system administrator. After your system administrator creates a new course using the re-run feature, you can complete the steps to update the new course.

Note

Before you re-run a course, make sure that its settings and content are complete. Additions and changes that you make to the original course after you create the new course are not propagated to the new course.

15.1.3. Update the New Course

When you create a course by re-running another course, you must carefully review the settings and content of the new course. To assure a quality experience for learners, be sure to test the course thoroughly before the course start date. See Testing Your Course Content and Beta Testing a Course.

At a minimum, you must make the following changes to prepare the new course for release.

  • Add course team members, including discussion admins, moderators, and community TAs. See Add Course Team Members or Staffing.

  • Update course-wide dates, including course and enrollment start and end dates. See Setting Start and End Dates.

  • Change the release dates of course sections, subsections, and units. See Release Dates.

  • Change the due dates of subsections that are part of your grading policy. See Set the Assignment Type and Due Date for a Subsection.

  • Delete or edit posts on the Course Updates page in Studio. See Add a Course Update.

  • Review the files on the Files & Uploads page. To update a file that contains references to course-related dates, you must complete the following steps.

    1. Locate the source file.
    2. Change course-related dates in the file.
    3. Upload the revised version of the file.

    Note

    If you use the same file name when you upload a revised file, links to that file in course components and course handouts will continue to work correctly. If you rename a file and then upload it, you must also update all links to the original file name. See Identify a Course Handout or Add a Link to a File.

  • Review the staff biographies and other information on the course summary page and make needed updates. See The Course About Page.

  • Create initial posts for discussion topics and an “introduce yourself” post. See Managing Course Discussions.

  • Add initial wiki articles.

  • For a course that includes learner cohorts, set up the cohorts and select a strategy for assigning learners to the cohorts.

You can refer to the Course Launching Activities topic for tools and ideas that help you prepare the course for launch.

Note

Changes you make in the new course are not propagated to the original course.